chiliztri
User
| Posts: 2 |   |
|
Need someone elses opinion - 2007/05/27 12:35
Hello, I'm new to the forum and I am not yet a hedgehog owner, but I'm looking around for some reliable breeders.
I live in Miami, Florida so yes it is legal here to own a hedgehog. Which is great for me because those little guys look so cute. I've checked breeders around central Florida and south Florida and the ones I have seen have either long waiting list or they don't have any litters at the moment. I did however stumble upon an ad while looking for a hedgehog breeder. She mostly breeds sugar gliders and chinchillas but she recently put an ad for 2 hedgehogs. An albino and an algerian black. Her website says she has A USDA Florida Fish and Wildlife license. I was wondering if someone who is more experienced with dealing with breeding and breeders could tell me if this is a good deal.
She sells by the color, and the both hedgehogs are going for $99.99. In order to reserve that hedgehog you need to pay a deposit of half the price of the hedgehog. She is also waits until the babies are 9 weeks old to let you pick them up and bring 'em home. Seeing as she is the only breeder that I can find at the moment with a litter I just wanted an opinion of whether I should put the deposit down.
Her website is http://www.sugargliderpetshop.com/
She has a section for hedgehogs, and even has pictures of the babies and what I'm guessing are the parents. Her reply time to emails is also very fast.
She deosn't seem like a pet shop like Petco or Petsmart, seeing as you need to have an appointment to look at her animals. So I'm guessing it is just a name. I have read that alot of hedgehogs from petshops come from mills so the name of her website wasn't exactly encouraging at first.
Well, please tell me if you think I should get my hedgehog from her.
Thanks!
|