Thread: Food type ideas

Food type ideas

Does anyone have any food brands that they use that don't have any corn fillers in them? I only have two brands of food and I'd like to mix at least three types of food for my first hedgie. I was wondering if about 30% protein and around 10-12% fat is an appropriet diet for a hedgehog, would that be ok? I am pretty new to owning hedghogs so any suggestions on how I can keep my hedgie happy and healthy would be great. DIY cages ideas, name ideas for my hedgehog. Is sunseed sunscripton hedgehog food good as a supplemental food for hedgehogs? What are you thoughts on Castor and Pollux Natural Ultra mix indoor formula cat food and Natural Balance L.I.D Green Pea and chicken formula? Both foods have over 30% protein and under 13% fat, are they ok to feed? Also toys, what types of toys do your hedgehogs like to play with?
    Last edited by hedgehogjunkie0998; 01-21-2012 at 04:24 PM.

Administrator
    Check out our articles section (Click Hedgehog Info in the top bar) to read some articles on hedgehog feeding. While you don't want to feed them absolute crap (almost all fillers with no identifiable meats) you also don't want to go with a rich super high quality food with no fillers in it. Hedgehogs fed too rich of a diet are prone to liver damage and failure, so make sure you don't get the food TOO high of quality. As far as the specific food brands, I don't have them in front of me so I can't create an opinion. Cage ideas can be found in our articles section as well. Toys can be almost anything that a hedgehog can push, pull, carry, climb on, or crawl under as long as it doesn't have sharp edges, gaps that the hedgehog (or any parts of a hedgehog) can get stuck in, or small pieces that can fall off. The old trusty toilet paper tube is a huge hit with many hedgehogs.
    Becca

*The following is my opinion, based on over 16 years of owning hedgehogs and at least 8 years of breeding them*